1.3 My record collection

My record buying career started early – very early, in the mid-1970s. I am always flabbergasted when people my age say the first record they bought was Duran Duran or Madonna. Madonna? She didn’t release anything in the UK until 1983 and, my dear, I was picking singles from the bargain bin when I was in short trousers.

I am cursed/blessed with a remarkable memory, so I can recall minute details of what I bought and where I bought it. Purchasing each bit of plastic is a little historic moment for me. I remember what we wore, the crackle between the grooves, which one sticks, who I leant it to, who never gave it back.

Leave a Reply

